Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Glisson was convicted in the 1995 killing of a livery cab driver in New York City but a review of new evidence points to a wrongful murder conviction. (AP Photo/Peter Cross)

An innocent man soon to be freed after 17 years behind bars for a crime he didn’t commit has one great fear — that his relationship with his daughter has been damaged beyond repair.

Eric Glisson has seen the girl only about half a dozen times on short prison visits with her mother. He has written her “hundreds of letters,’’ but she never responded.

The teenager learned Thursday she’s not the daughter of a killer.

“I don’t know how she took it,” he told The Post yesterday at Sing Sing. “I don’t know what her reaction was. I don’t know what to expect.”

His main goal is making certain she understands he disappeared from her life through no fault of his own. It’s a pain that he feels personally.

“I need her to know I didn’t abandon her,’’ he said. “I was abandoned by my own father at a young age. I know how she felt not having a father in her life.’’

Glisson and four co-defendants were cleared of murdering a livery driver in The Bronx after he wrote the Manhattan US Attorney’s Office with the results of detective work he did from prison, passing on information he got speaking to pals from the neighborhood.

Read more: NY Post